

SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

OF THURSDAY, OCTOBER 13, 1881.

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, SATURDAY, OCTOBER 15, 1881.

Returning Officers appointed.

JAMES PRENDERGAST,
Administrator of the Government.

WHEREAS by "The Regulation of Elections Act, 1881," it is enacted that the Governor may appoint such Returning Officers, Clerks, and other officers as may be required to carry the provisions of the said Act into execution, and that every person so appointed shall hold office during the Governor's pleasure:

Now, therefore, I, James Prendergast, the Administrator of the Government of the Colony of New Zealand, in pursuance of the power and authority vested in me by the said Act, do hereby appoint the under-mentioned persons to be Returning Officers for the election of Members of the House of Representatives for the electoral district placed opposite to

their respective names:-

Herbert William Brabant ... Tauranga. David Johnston, jun. George Andrew Oliver ... East Coast. ... Hawke's Bay. John Thomas Tylee ... Alexander St. Clair Inglis ... Napier. ... Waipawa. ... Rangitikei. Alfred Ross Joseph Harris ... Manawatu. Edward Churton ... Garland William Woon Waitotara. ... Wanganui. ... New Plymouth. Wilfred Rennell ... Taranaki. Charles Edward Rawson Charles Allen Wray Egmont. ... Foxton. James Ames William Jones ... Hutt. ... Wairarapa North. Joseph John Freeth .. Herbert Samuel Wardell ... Wairarapa South. Thorndon. James Hay ... Thorndo William Pattison James Henry Eustace de Bathe Brandon Wellington South. ... Picton. John Allen

Henry Clinton Salkeld Baddeley Nelson. Joseph Foord Wilson ... Motueka. James Thomas Catley ... Waimea. William Stuart ... William Horton Revell ... Wairau. ... Baller. ... Inangahua. Henry Lucas Inangahua. Henry Aldborough Stratford ... Greymouth. Reginald Foster ... Cheviot. William Alfred Barton ... Kumara. ... Hokitika. Joseph Giles Caleb Whitefoord ... Ashley. ... Kaiapoi. Joseph Beswick Frederick John Kimball ... Avon. ... St. Albans. Robert Fitzroy Holderness ... Stanmore. Fortescue Evelyn Wright George Booth ... Sydenham. George Leslie Lee ... Christchurch North ... Christchurch South Alexander Lean ... Heathcote. John Grierson ... Lyttelton. ... Akaroa. Frederick Denhame Gibson Justin Aylmer ... Lincoln. Charles Lewis Davies ... Selwyn. William Green Lunn ... Ashburton. John Nugent Wood Wakanui. George Jameson George Dyson ... Geraldine. George Dyson ... Geraldine. Richmond Beetham ... Timaru. Frederick Worcester Stubbs ... Gladstone. ... Waimate. George Tennant ... Thomas Windle Parker ... Waitaki. Isaac Newton Watt Oamaru. ... Moeraki. Thomas Luther Shepherd John Wallace Murdoch ... Waikouaiti. ... Port Chalmers. Frederick George Downes ... Roslyn. Colin Allan ... Dunedin West. John Jackson ... Dunedin East. Alexander Stewart ... Archibald Reid Ure Dunedin Central. ... Dunedin South. James Taylor

Thomas Riddel Dodds	Peninsula.
William Milne	Caversham.
John Torry Douglas	Taieri.
Henry Wirgman Robinson	Mount Ida.
Frederick Thomas Duke Jeffe	ery Dunstan.
Robert Richard Jones	Bruce.
Edgar Hall Carew	Tuapeka.
Peter Farrell	Clutha.
Alfred Douglas	Mataura.
William Russell	Awarua.
Arthur Chillas Henderson	Invercargill.
John Scott Worthington	Wakatipu.
Daniel Shea Lawlor	Hokonui.
Peter Grant	Wallace.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Administrator of the Government, this fifteenth day of October, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-one.

H. A. ATKINSON, (in absence of the Colonial Secretary.)

Electoral Rolls open for Inspection at Offices of Registrars of Electors.

Colonial Secretary's Office, Wellington, 14th October, 1881.

In accordance with the provisions of section 27 of "The Registration of Electors Act, 1879," it is hereby notified that the electoral roll of each electoral district will be open for inspection at the

office of the Registrar of Electors for the district, from the date of its formation as published in the New Zealand Gazette.

H. A. ATKINSON, (in absence of the Colonial Secretary.)

Notice of Formation of Electoral Rolls.

Colonial Secretary's Office, Wellington, 15th October, 1881. NOTICE is hereby given that in accordance with section 8 of "The Representation Act, 1881," the Registrars of Electors of the under-named electoral districts have given notice to the Colonial Secretary that the new electoral rolls for such districts are formed.

Those rolls are therefore the electoral rolls for the respective districts from this date.

H. A. ATKINSON (in absence of the Colonial Secretary.)

Manawatu. Lyttelton. Egmont. Geraldine. Foxton. Bruce. Picton. Clutha. Wairau. Mataura. Buller. Awarua. Greymouth. Invercargill. Hokitika.

By Authority: GEORGE DIDSBURY, Government Printer, Wellington.